Writing Is Liberating And Keeps Me Close To God

Future Time
Persistence

“So that was it?” said MV, “No more searching? No more struggle?”
“In that direction, yes,” I said. “Synonymous with struggle is family,
however, and that never quits.”

“But you never stopped writing. Why?”

“In a way, I was forced to continue,” I replied, “CMU was trying to
privatize my job. With a family to support and seventeen years of
seniority about to go up in smoke, I decided to go back to school. As
a Sociology graduate student, you might say my metaphysic got socialized.”

“Why Sociology?”

“Why not,” I replied, “it was an extension of Philosophy, and I needed
a degree that I could sell. I had the support of the faculty too,
particularly the politically left leaning faculty.”

“Did they support your metaphysic?” said MV.

“No,” I replied, “In leftist circles God is not a popular subject. In
fact, I never brought it up. It was, however, mentioned once, at a
critical point in writing my thesis, and I was told to stay sociological.

“How did you do that?” responded MV. “I mean, how do you write about
the experience of God sociologically?”

“Writing a thesis is about using authority figures to back up your
ideas,” I replied, “which is what I did; and further, it’s about
gathering statistically significant data to back up your hypotheses,
which is also what I did.”

“I must be missing something, or are you a magician too?” said MV.

“It wasn’t easy, something like walking on broken glass, but I got it
done,” I replied.”

“What was your thesis about?”

“I titled it: Prejudice: Empirical Data Beckoning Toward A Theory Of
Self, Ambivalence, And Tolerance,” I said, “and except for the data,
which wasn’t as strong as I would have liked, I pulled it off. I was
able to say what I wanted to say and back it up with data. It didn’t
happen overnight, though, and, like I said, it wasn’t easy. In fact,
my first two thesis topics were rejected. They weren’t sociological
enough I guess. One, a paper on Structuralism, written in a class that
was supposed to help students prepare for their thesis, I got credit
for, but it still didn’t fly as a thesis topic. But, I haven’t really
answered your question, have I? The fact is I can’t stop writing. For
me, it’s an expression of freedom.”

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writing Is Liberating And Keeps Me Close To God

  1. The fact is I can’t stop writing. For
    me, it’s an expression of freedom.” – This I certainly understand and agree with!

    Very interesting series.

  2. ditto! Quotidian, you said it just as I thought it…good to know that there still is this need out there! what would happen without it?… the world would be so deprived…

  3. aawwa says:

    Nice post! Good to read your writing again – it is always refreshing and original.

    Lorraine 🙂

  4. bwinwnbwi says:

    Thanks for all the encouraging comments. I am surrounded by all the above inspiration and that makes it easier and more joyful to carry on.

  5. eof737 says:

    I agree with your title… it is freeing. 😉

  6. bwinwnbwi says:

    “The human animal’s past” according to G.H. Mead (1934:116), “is constantly present in the facility with which he acts…. .” If, in the following quote, you replace the words biography and negation with Mead’s “me” and “I” reference, then Mead could just as easily be talking about (the ~bb of b~b~bb) as opposed to his I/me couplet, when he states, (1934:174)

    The “I” (negation) of this moment is present in the “me” (biography) of the next moment. There again I cannot turn around quick enough to catch myself…If you ask, then, where directly in your own experience the “I” (negation) comes in, the answer is that it comes in as a historical figure. It is what you were a second ago that is the “I” (negation) of the “me” (biography).”

    The implicative affirmative of the not-me-self confers logical consistency to Mead’s claim when he says: “…the actor never catches sight of himself or herself as ‘I’. The ‘I’ appears in memory; it has already become a ‘me’” (Mead, 1934:171).

Leave a Reply

