And That Is What Prevents The Acceptance Of New Ideas

The Emotion Of Reason
Future Time

“What did you do after that,” said MV, “I mean you never really had
the `smarts’ to compete on the level of the really talented, so how
did you handle it—emotionally I mean.”

“I was really conflicted,” I replied. “I had something important to
say, but I just couldn’t get it done. I felt duty-bound to try,
though. What I found was that I was in over my head.”

“How so,” MV responded.

“After a couple of failed attempts I got the message,” I said. “It was
right in front of me. I just never saw it until I had too.”

“Saw what?”

“The problem,” I said. “I saw the problem that prevents new ideas from
taking root. Instinctively we are forced to hold on to our
convictions. It’s all about who we are. It follows from my own
philosophy in fact.”

“I don’t understand. What the hell does that mean?” said MV.

“But that is the problem,” I replied. “I can’t explain it unless
emotionally, we’re already on the same page; unless we are already in
tune, so to speak. Otherwise, anything I say amounts to no more than
wind blowing through the willows.”

“Aw go ahead and give it a shot, I’m all ears.”

“What! Is that a joke?”

“You decide,” MV responded. “After all it’s not like we’re two
different people, you know.”

“Humor; what’s next?”

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And That Is What Prevents The Acceptance Of New Ideas

  1. eof737 says:

    Who forces us? society? our peers? our own inner critic? Interesting… 😉

    • bwinwnbwi says:

      Instinctively we are forced to hold on to our convictions. Where do our convictions come from? They are first formed via our environment and upbringing. Family and expectations are a huge part of that, at least until self-determination takes over and we discover/create our own personal convictions. Bottom line–unless our convictions are emotionally anchored they are not ours. New ideas come and go. If we cannot find a way to embed ourselves in the idea (self-determination and sacrifice are required here), unless, emotionally, we’re not on the same page as the new idea, then new ideas will always remain outside of our convictions. Thanks for the questions! I hope this helps. Take care.

Leave a Reply

