Even More Important–Use Value

Conversation In Thin Air Continues

July, ’80

“So what are you saying,” I interrupted, “How exactly did Cassirer rescue us?”

“I’m saying,” said Noel, “that the conceptual symbolic form, the one that reduces everything to the lowest possible denominator, is a preeminent success; except its meaning is only one of the many meanings that are generated by the multi-functional meanings of symbolic form. Success, when measured on the level of the conceptual symbolic form, reduces, to the simplest possible ‘ideal meaning.’ That success, along with every other meaningful success, has contributed to the survival of our species. In the evolutionary scheme of things, the innovations of sensed space and time, and mathematical space and time have been absolutely essential to the survival of our species.”

“Space and time are an invention; that contradicts everything,” exclaimed Tony.
“Everybody listen up. No more whiskey for Noel. He’s cut off, as of right now.”

“Very funny,” replied Noel, “but if you think about it, the theory of relativity gives a clear indication of what Cassirer was talking about, that the meaning of space and time is found in its use value, not in the so called ‘objective world’. Think about it. In relativity theory ordinary methods of space and time measurement fall short. We no longer can use rigid bodies and ordinary clocks as measures of space and time. In Einstein’s calculations, space and time are reduced to mere effects.”

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Even More Important–Use Value

  1. eof737 says:

    Hello dear friend! We made it and I’m glad we connected… Are you also bwinwbwin music? 🙂
    ♥Happy ♥New ♥Year ♥ & TY for the blog love! 🙂

    • bwinwnbwi says:

      Ditto, ditto, ditto, –thanks for your blog also, and yes, I’m grateful for all the connections that have moved people to read and/or comment on this blog. As far as I know, I am the only bwinwnbwi (an abbreviated form of Sartre’s for-itself and the monicker that I use for the term sunyata) out there. But, I’ve been out there for a long time now (yes, I’m bwinwnbwi and also bwinwnbwimusic) so there may be others who are using the same name (however, upon goggling it I only see my stuff). I hope that we continue to remain connected, but I’m not sure if wordpress postaday is going to continue or instead cast the lot of us out into the blogosphere that we came from (e.g. my old bwinwnbwi blog that I no longer post at). Thanks (everybody) for all your likes and comments. Take care.

Leave a Reply

