Luck Of The Shaman

Campbell River, B.C.
July ’80

It was Sunday and unless I could come up with the right screw I
wasn’t going anywhere. At the last chance gas station–the hardware
places were all closed and I had already covered the other gas
stations–I came up empty. As I sat down on the sidewalk, an old guy
asked me if I wanted to look in his toolbox. I didn’t expect to find
anything in his fifty-year-old toolbox, but I looked anyway. There
were a few rusty screws on the bottom, but nothing that came close to
the metric screw I needed. In a word, I was screwed. (I had to say
that because all day long everybody else did). Just as I was about to
walk away, the old guy said here try this one, as he picked a screw up
from out of his toolbox. It fit. It was magic. I was amazed.

It took five hours, but I was finally back on the highway, pedaling north.
Originally my destination was Kelsey Bay, sixty miles up island, but
in Campbell River I found out that the ferry didn’t dock there
anymore. It docked at the tip of the island, another 150 miles north.
After they paved the gravel road to Port Hardy, the ferry’s home base
moved there. That was both surprising and discouraging news. When,
however, I found out the ferry didn’t leave until Tuesday, I felt a
little better. That gave me just enough time to reach there.

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Luck Of The Shaman

  1. ElizOF says:

    What is that movie about… Or did I miss an explanation? TY! 🙂

  2. ElizOF says:

    How did this get posted twice? Wow! 🙂

    • bwinwnbwi says:

      I’ve been having trouble posting (I think it has something to do with the new format–side panel–that postaday created). Lately, I have to post twice because the first post doesn’t get published–it doesn’t show up on my blog even though it states that its supposed to be there. So, I post it again (I cut and paste the no show post to a new blog post), and the second time it shows up on my blog. Apparently, the Shaman post got published twice–but your guess is as good as mine concerning why! The Shaman picture came off off the google search engine after I wrote in Shaman pictures and had my pick of appropriate pictures to post. The above picture fits well I think. Thanks lots for all your comments and happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

