Swim Breaks On The St. John River



New Brunswick
June ‘77

Biking was absolutely beautiful today. In 80 and 90-degree
temperatures, I biked on a good highway, through rolling forests,
while farms occasionally dotted the countryside. At no time along the
St. John River did the biking become difficult. Tomorrow I’ll probably
see the last of New Brunswick. Too bad, it was so pretty. I did around
100 miles today, and there were sixty or so miles to go before I
arrived in Quebec.

I cooled off with a couple of swim breaks during those 100 miles.
When I came to one of the many steams that I passed, a ten-minute
break was all that I needed to keep me happy. Around 6:30 p.m., I saw
some kids diving off an abutment into one of the bays on the St. John
River. I immediately started to look for a way off the Trans-Canada.
Once I found my way back to them, it took only a couple of seconds for
me to jump into the water. While swimming, the kids told me about a
camping park. When I arrived there, I found lots of picnic tables,
with most of the people camped over in the pines. I was in the aspens,
enjoying the soft yellow sun-rays filtering through the softwoods.

I am now enjoying the end of a beautiful day. My trip home, so far,
has been the nicest biking I could have wished for.

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swim Breaks On The St. John River

  1. I hope to drive back East this fall and plan to complete my circle of the US by driving north to the Black Hills and then East and you make me think of following your route backward. Don’t know if will have the time as much depends on the arrival of grandson number three, and our cash flow, which is not abundant. What you have given me, however, is the thought and the plan and sometimes planning is better than the vacation, sometime not, but whether I go or not, I now have happy plans.

    Stay safe and strong,

    Katherine

  2. bwinwnbwi says:

    Hopefully everything will work out for you and your trip will be wonderful. The Black Hills are not to missed if one tends to be motivated by the spirit of adventure. We have to dream and then plan and yes, that is the seed that creates the memories that sustain us all throughout life. Thanks for the support and encouragement. Take care and enjoy the adventure!

Leave a Reply

