Scallop Shockers Wanted — Nobody Home


Nova Scotia
June 23

Campfire coffee and toast put some life into a morning of mist and
dampness. After breakfast, and back on the highway, the rain started
coming down so hard that I couldn’t continue biking. I stopped and
looked at my map for a possible campsite. There wasn’t any. At the gas
Station where I bought a candy bar and coke, I saw a sign that read:
“Scallop shockers wanted,” and under the message was an attached
phone number. When I called the number, there was no answer.
I needed that job, not to mention a place to get out of the weather, too.

I spent the rest of the day walking around Barrington, N.S.—consuming
coffee, cookies, anything that would get me out of the rain. At each stop,
I would read a few pages of my book. At a Laundromat I found a home.
I must have called that scallop guy seven times before I gave up. I was in
a rotten mood and my common sense told me to get a hotel room, but,
instead, I got on my bike and started peddling in the rain. I pulled
off the main highway at the first gravel road, and started walking my
bike. There were houses all around me. I hadn’t really gotten away
from town. It didn’t look good, and then I walked by an abandoned
house. Behind that house, in a garage, I found shelter. It kept
raining, but the garage was comfortable enough. I watched the rain
fall until the end of daylight.

June 24

When I’m lonely, I tend to write more in my journal. I guess that’s
natural. I don’t generally feel lonely, or at least I don’t admit to
it, but my frequent journal entries have made me aware of it.

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Scallop Shockers Wanted — Nobody Home

  1. karen8095 says:

    Your journal is making a great read, I always feel like I want to read more each day. Looking forward to your next post 🙂

  2. bwinwnbwi says:

    Thanks for the nice comment. I have two more bike trips to post, but I have a bit of in-between filler to post also (I can’t remember how much). It’s mostly philosophy after that and after that who knows. With the best made plans, however, life always interferes, so who knows if any of this will actually get done! Take care.

  3. frizztext says:

    Nova Scotia – we liked to dream from: bought some photo books here in Germany – and you have the guts to grab your bike and visit! great!
    P.S.:
    I always remember your story: as you were invited by a black family to eat with them. your travel document could become my bible of courage and flexibility 🙂

    • bwinwnbwi says:

      Thanks. I’m speechless, but I do appreciate, really appreciate your comment! You should know, though, that for every positive attribute that defines me there is an equal an opposite attribute that (unfortunately) also defines me. Take care.

  4. eof737 says:

    Keep it up… we are enjoying the journey with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

