Waking Up Next To Walden Pond



New Hampshire
June, ’77

In the morning, a cloudy mist greeted us. The fog bank covered half
of Walden Pond. After a moment’s silence, I turned to Richard and
asked how his night had gone. “Not so good,” he replied, “too many
mosquitoes. It was sweaty in my sleeping bag.” “Yeah,” I responded,
“the mosquitoes were bad, but, all in all, I had a pretty good
evening.” We hiked down the hill and managed to get our bikes back to
the highway without being discovered. Then it was up the New Hampshire
coastline, under clouds at first, but late in the morning the sun
broke through making it a beautiful bicycle ride.

At the end of the day, we found a nice secluded area to camp. But
before we camped, we went for some beer. Sitting high up on a rocky
incline, overlooking the beautiful ocean surf, we drank our beers and
ate our store bought roast beef sandwiches. We had every intention of
making it back to our pre-selected campsite, but those intentions, I
guess, just weren’t good enough because we crashed in the vacant lot
just behind where we were sitting.

Before we started traveling together, I used to bike long and doodle
little. Richard’s agenda was just the opposite. He doodled long and
bicycled in-between doodles. We both understood the situation and
therefore it was easy to agree on a new procedure. We made a
gentleman’s agreement to go our separate ways. Yesterday was such a
good day for both of us that it made it easy to leave on the best of
terms. I was the first to say good-bye to Richard who, when I was
ready to leave, was still reading his morning newspaper. Not far down
the highway from where we camped the road forked, so I took the scenic
route. (It wasn’t very scenic, though.) The weather was holding, and
Maine was beautiful—a great state to bike.

As it turned out, the time I spent bicycling the scenic route was
about the same amount of time that Richard spent doodling in Portland,
Maine. Just outside of Portland, we ran into each other on the highway.
We camped just outside of Brunswick, in the woods, in the rain. In the
morning I packed up in a swarm of mosquitoes, chiggers, and eight to
ten leeches that I guess were enjoying the feel of my nylon tent.
Richard and I agreed to meet again in Bar Harbor. We planned a joint
tour of Arcadia National Park. (I wonder if I will ever compromise
enough to abandon my solitary nature? A little compromise, I know,
would be healthy).

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waking Up Next To Walden Pond

  1. Do you mind if I harvest some of your pictures at some point. Thinking of an Along the Atlantic Coast Seriies, I have a few, but would like to do one or two from you in each state. Identifying and giving you credit of course. Just let me know and if you want to pick the pictures and make a one or two sentence comment that would be fantastic. I also understand that you might be planning a book of some sorts and might not want this. So just let me know and thank you for the likes.

    Katherine G also known as Granykat, Mom, the Old Lady, WOW OR WOO.

    Stay strong.

    • bwinwnbwi says:

      You can have whatever you like. Most of my pictures come off the internet anyway. Just type in some bridge or idea, like NJ heavy traffic, and write “pictures” after it and surprise–you’ve got a picture to post. I’m not planning a book. This is just what I do for entertainment–using my old journal entries from past trips long to post on this WordPress blog. I’m just grateful that postaday has made it easy and accessible for others to read and occasionally like. Good luck on your Atlantic Coast Series.

  2. Mèo Lười Việt says:

    Though mosquitoes, chiggers and leeches are all around, life is still full of fun when you have someone as Richard as a friend. 😀

    A little compromise is healthy. I like that.

Leave a Reply

