Hurrah—A Janitor’s Job At Last


Tucson, Arizona
1974

Back at university! I enrolled in Zoology, Ethics, Existentialism,
Philosophy of Literature, and 19th Century Philosophy. I earned a 3.5
GPA my first semester back, but the following semester the problems started.
I didn’t get very far into that semester before I moved out of my
apartment and down to Arizona. As might be expected, once I started
school, C.S. and I got back together. I was in my second semester
when I found out she had a second boyfriend that I knew nothing about.
Home on vacation from working in an Arizona copper mine, my old friend
Mike, told me that his copper mine was always hiring. That’s all I needed
to hear, so I left school and went with Mike back to Arizona hoping to score a job.

In Tucson, we went over to Vicky’s (the same Vicky that I had hitched
out west with) and Javier’s trailer (Javier being Vicky’s boyfriend).
On weekends, Mike parked his van in their driveway; otherwise he slept
in his van out in the desert, closer to where he worked. Vicky and Denise
(a mutual friend of everybody), had just got back from a month long tour of
Mexico in Denise’s van. The three of us, Denise, Mike and I, pooled
our monies and rented an apartment in Tucson. It was a twenty-five
mile drive out to the mine, but Mike said, “No problem; the
apartment’s air conditioning and showers made it all worthwhile.”

After getting settled in, I applied for a job at the copper mine. I had to
make three long trips out to the desert mine before I finally got the news that they  wouldn’t hire me. The doctor said, “It sounds like a heart murmur;” and that was that; I got lucky, though, because, eventually, I got a job at the University  of Arizona. I worked on the night shift cleaning the Language and Arts building.  I had finally scored my long sought after university janitor’s job! Hurrah!

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hurrah—A Janitor’s Job At Last

  1. eof737 says:

    What a journey and you tell it well. 🙂

  2. CaroleSue says:

    Boy am I confused. How did I end up sharing a ride to AZ with Mike D., if he was already living there? Did he come back to Houghton Lake for some reason? As for me having “another” boyfriend, you weren’t the easiest person to stay loyal to , since you didn’t promote a heck of a lot of loyalty yourself. Youthful emotions…..those
    were the days of so much angst, now weren’t they? 😉

    • bwinwnbwi says:

      Well that makes two of us. If I would have hitched out there, I would have recorded it that way. I just checked, it’s says I went out with Mike. I will ask Mike tomorrow, seeing how we are both working together at CMU this summer. Maybe he will clear this up (I can’t remember). Maybe Mike took us both out–at different times. Anyway, keep me honest–cool–no story has just one side!

Leave a Reply

