Hitchhiking The Trans-Canada

Bound For Glory
Out on the trans-Canada highway
There was a girl hitchhiking with her dog
Fireflies buzzin’ round her head
Like candles in the fog.


Trans-Canada Highway
Aug. `73

My luck continued. After hiking out of the mountains, I got a ride as
soon as I started hitchhiking. I stood in groups of hitchhikers and
still managed rides. There were always two or three people hitchhiking
at every stop. I even met a guy who said he had walked across
Saskatchewan. I didn’t know why I wasn’t one of those stranded, but I
did know that I would never hitchhike the trans-Canada again.

A couple of days ago, I was at an exit where seven people were waiting
for a ride. It was around midnight, and I had just been dropped off. I
took one look at all the long faces, and I knew my luck had run out. I
decided to spend the night over in the grass, on the other side of the
gas station, but I thought first I would think about it over a cup of
coffee. When, after drinking my coffee, I walked out of the restaurant
and glanced over at where the group of hitchhikers should have been
standing, I saw no one. As I walked up to the highway, I found some of
the guys crashed in a ditch while the others had just plain
disappeared. I was the only hitchhiker at the exit and to make things
even better, a sixteen-year-old girl, Wendy, got dropped off, and we
hitchhiked out of there together.

Jean, John, and Olive picked up Wendy and me. They were on their way to Toronto, which was Wendy’s destination. We had scored a three-day ride that would take us all the way home. (I would depart when the Trans Canada  touched upper Michigan at Sault Saint Marie.) On the highway, we passed dozens and dozens of hitchhikers, and after driving nonstop for twenty-one hours, we stopped for a few beers at a Hotel pub. After drinking the beers, John didn’t want to drive anymore, so we all stayed at the Hotel.

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hitchhiking The Trans-Canada

  1. eof737 says:

    You got a lot of grace on your hitch-hiking sojourn… 🙂

Leave a Reply

