Looking Up Into Quadrillions Of Tiny Points Of Light



Bridge Camp, Waimea Canyon
Aug. `73

This canyon had brought me as close to paradise as I would probably
ever get. Just being down here had made it impossible for me to
continue as a Hawaiian tourist. I had planned to go to the big island.
Instead, I would go to the Canadian Rockies. I needed to follow
through on what I had started and could only do that while immersed in  the solitude of mountain heights. That was the only place for me now.

Yesterday, I began my hike out of the canyon. When I reached the spot where the river met the trail, I decided to follow the river instead
of the trail. The hiking was beautiful, but the twenty-mile riverbank
hike was more than I had bargained for. The farther down river I got,
the larger the river became. The riverbanks that permitted walking
reversed every time the river made a bend. I was forced into multiple
river crossings, through ever-stronger currents. At one of those
crossings, I lost my footing and twisted my angle. My progress slowed
after that, and by the time I reached an suspension bridge that crossed the river, it stopped altogether.

My ankle, now swollen and extremely sore, could no longer support my weight. I had found a good place for a camp, so I decided to stay off
my foot until I could walk again. I didn’t know how long that would
take, but at least I was connected to a hiking trail in case I needed
help. After dark, I hobbled up to the suspension footbridge and rolled out  my sleeping bag. Looking up into quadrillions of tiny points of light, I  experienced, as if for the first time, the Milky Way Galaxy—Awesome!

While camped at the bridge I had lots of time to think. For some time,
I had known that “I” was not separate from the canyon. I knew that a
large part of “who I was,” was part of all canyons, rivers, forests
and oceans. But now, I was beginning to see that part of me (maybe for the first time) that wasn’t this canyon. I was beginning to see, see
clearly, that part of me that everybody else knew of as me. This
vision did not come easy. I needed help to see it, and this help
came from the river; it spoke to me.

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Looking Up Into Quadrillions Of Tiny Points Of Light

  1. jgavinallan says:

    I like your postings. Your earlier one with your…I think…unfaithful…girlfriend showed a wonderful quality in you. Understanding and compassion…sometimes missing in men.

    You are beautiful in spirit

    Jaye

  2. eof737 says:

    Gorgeous shots… 🙂

  3. bwinwnbwi says:

    I appreciate the support. Thanks!

  4. Mèo Lười Việt says:

    I was beginning to see, see
    clearly, that part of me that everybody else knew of as me. This
    vision did not come easy. I needed help to see it, and this help
    came from the river; it spoke to me.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

