Life – Eulogy For White Fang

Keaau Beach, Hawaii

I never really recovered from the dog pee in the eye incident. The problem went away, though. The male dogs screwed little White Fang until she got sick and died. I was doing business in Honolulu at the time, and when I returned to the beach, Danny broke the news to me. He told me the ground was too hard to bury her, so they threw her body into the dumpster. I needed a bit more closure than that, and I got it by writing her this little eulogy:

White Fang

A stray dog; a hungry dog; a thief.
Provoked anger, mingled with supplication,
culminating in compassion;
a food cash now divided among two species.

Time passed, and a
new home proved expedient.
The dog followed.
Picnic extravagance was much appreciated.
Days of resolute effort turned into
days of tumble and roll.
White Fang had found friends:
Keoki, Mo, Yesika, Primo, Jack, and Short Tail.

The setting sun signaled the end of play
and the beginning of White Fang’s vigil.
Witnessed by the light of the moon
two heads lay upon the same pillow.
The divine disclosure of ripe fertility turned
White Fang into the most popular dog in the park.

Pursuit embodied activity
interruption defined routine
excited dogs fighting among themselves
Chaos defined the night.
Evanescent organism
left more than memories.

Two weeks of flight
ended in unnatural quietude.
Exhaustion turned to sickness
leaving a drained and limp body.
Convulsions ushered in death.

Delivered into the garbage can
emotion was rendered neutral.
After two days of rotting dog
empathy lapsed into repulsion.
The garage man was applauded.
White Fang was forgotten.

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Life – Eulogy For White Fang

  1. CaroleSue says:

    The poem was good, and surprisingly human……..the empathy that turned into repulsion pretty much said it all. We are what we are.

    • bwinwnbwi says:

      Thanks for the compliment. I’m dealing with the last days of my beloved Shepperd and I believe he will be my last dog. Hip displacia problems, when he can’t get out to the bathroom etc… will signal the end–and a trip to the vet. We are what we are, I agree, in spades! Take care my friend.

  2. You say this now when it’s hard to watch a friend suffer. No more getting close but another four legs will come along at some point, looking for you. Just you. And you will be hard pressed to turn away.
    You get around. I like people who get around. Nice blog

  3. bwinwnbwi says:

    Yes, I know the feeling–and perhaps. Thanks for the nice comment!

  4. eof737 says:

    This is truly sad; in a haunting sort of way…
    E

  5. Mèo Lười Việt says:

    Sounds so miserable… and questionable?!

Leave a Reply

