Party Like You’re Hawaiian


Punaluu Beach Park

On Saturday the clouds moved, and it rained. In the afternoon, when
the rains let up, a Hawaiian family camped about fifteen yards from my
tent. They invited me over for dinner. The wild pig was good, but next
time I’ll pass on the poi. It tasted like spoiled yogurt. After dinner
I was treated to a Primo beer, the homegrown beer of the Islands. The
beer had an interesting flavor too, kind of like vinegar. After three
or four, though, I had no problem drinking it.

By nightfall, the Hawaiian campsite had grown considerably. There were
aunts and uncles, cousins and neighbors, all partying on the beach. I
stuck around for a few more beers and just when the party really got
going, I went to bed. Based on what I saw, partying Hawaiian style
left no room for party-poopers. I bet the word wasn’t even in their
language. In the morning when I went back for breakfast, some of the
hefty men (the Hawaiians were very large) were drinking beer with
their bacon and eggs.

After I left Bellows beach, I peddled to Punaluu. By the time I
arrived, I had three broken spokes. The weather wasn’t good either,
but it didn’t start storming until after dark. Forty-mile an hour
winds battered my tent, a tent not large enough to lie down in and not
rain-tight either. In the morning I found myself completely alone in a
very large beach park. I spent the rest of the day sitting under the
bathroom overhangs. They blocked most the wind and rain, but again the
atmosphere was lacking. By evening the storm softened a bit, ten mile
an hour winds and the rains turned to a constant drizzle.

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Party Like You’re Hawaiian

  1. Mèo Lười Việt says:

    The weather wasn’t good either,
    but it didn’t start storming until after dark. Forty-mile an hour
    winds battered my tent, a tent not large enough to lie down in and not
    rain-tight either. In the morning I found myself completely alone in a
    very large beach park. I spent the rest of the day sitting under the
    bathroom overhangs. They blocked most the wind and rain, but again the
    atmosphere was lacking. By evening the storm softened a bit, ten mile
    an hour winds and the rains turned to a constant drizzle.

    Tomorrow the bright morning will come. 🙂

  2. bwinwnbwi says:

    You were right. The fickle sun did come out in the morning, but only after I returned to the place where it liked to hide. Thanks for the comment.

  3. eof737 says:

    I love the title but not so much the drinks 🙂
    Catching up!
    Eliz

    • bwinwnbwi says:

      In order to study different cultures (in cultural anthropology) sometimes you had to go a little native. The trick was to still stay focused. I was never very good a learning the trick–but the memories make it all worth while. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

