How Does Oneness Make Room For Otherness?

Can you please explain, in an uncomplicated way, what Structuralism is?

It is very hard to give an easy answer to your question. A long time ago, I wrote a paper on structuralism where I began with: We must first look at the various structural models that have been described in linguistics (Saussure and Chomsky,) anthropology (Levi-Strauss,) psychology (Piaget,) and philosophy (Foucault). It was a long paper. But, I had no simple answers back then. Later, I stumbled upon a simple answer. After reading the book, Order Out Of Chaos by the Nobel laureate, Ilya Prigogine, I ran across the following quote: “Whatever we call reality, it is revealed to us only through the active construction in which we participate.” Ilya Prigogine

If all is one, why do we need worldviews?

The philosophy I subscribe to suggests that individuality and the freedom to act and choose is itself incorporated into the universe where “all is one.” It takes some getting used to, but it is logically consistent. The following quote from my blog, I hope, will help to answer your question:

“A word of caution here, just because the Upanishads and Christian mysticism may celebrate the same source, they remain products of different religious traditions; this follows from the b~b~bb structure that grounds human individuality. In other words, the sectarian nature of any religion speaks only through its own tradition because all religions are a product of the individuality that speaks through the ‘human freedom to choose,’ which, in turn, lies embedded in nature, humanity, and divinity.

How does unity coexist with multiplicity? How does oneness make room for otherness?

In The Beginning was the paradox: How does the all-perfect source become something less than it-self? God, being up for this challenge, solved the dilemma, and She did this by (gender is optional here, in fact, it’s probably best to think of God in terms of process, in terms of “processing divinity”) liberating Her own non-being. This event had to be performed in such a way so as God could both be and not be God in the same phenomenon. Her solution is doable, even logically doable, in the form of being-what-is-not-while-not-being-what-is. In this double negation, God becomes free in the phenomenon of not, not being God, while affirming (by implication) the God that is free to not be God. In other words, the liberation of God’s non-being becomes God’s immanence (God’s becoming) while, at the same time, there exists an “implied” transcendent God. God’s immanence is particularly important to humans because divine immanence is what gets called “reality.”

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How Does Oneness Make Room For Otherness?

  1. Makes incredible sense to me. Thank you.

    • bwinwnbwi says:

      I’m trying to remember when I first encountered this idea. Unfortunately, I can’t (old age you know). I do remember, though, when I experienced the powerful significance that follows from this idea–it was in the CMU library back when I had what I referred to in this blog as a first person God experience. Thanks for all the support. Take care.

  2. Pingback: Transcendence or Immanence or Something Else? | Pilgrim Outskirts

  3. bwinwnbwi says:

    By virtue of being not-God God becomes, in the verb sense (~~b), “free to be” and, in the noun sense, free to be the “God of creation,” i.e., the implied God of all creation. “What cannot be thought is that the universe/world is the being of God when God is not being deity; the universe is, in the time of not being, a moment in the being of God.” (Robert P. Scharlemann p. 89-90, 1982).

Leave a Reply

