A Good Time Is Contagious—Even If You Are Invisible

Quebec
July 3, ‘82

I put up my tent in the rain. Its been storming for the last two
days, but I’ve dodged most of them. I just talked to a guy who was
wondering what I was doing behind this refrigerator truck. He
couldn’t speak English, but when he saw my bike and tent he seemed to
think everything was OK. At least I hope he did, anyway he went away.
The sooner it gets dark the better.

Yesterday, while it was sunny, I did laundry. Back on the highway I
was greeted by 30 mile per hour headwinds and around 5 PM I encountered
a storm front. Fortunately there was a field close by where I set up my tent
just before the storm hit. (The refrigerator truck just
kicked on. It’s going to be a real peaceful evening.) The rain lasted
through the night, finally stopping around 9 AM. It
was an on off day of rain after that. So that’s what I’ve been doing
for the last two days. I’m tired of these any port in the storm
campsites, not to mention the anxiety I have to go through not knowing
whether an evening cloudburst is going to blow my tent away. Needless
to say I have not been setting any long distance bicycle records.
However, with just a little luck, I think I am still on schedule to
meet Mike on the 9th of July. Before leaving Michigan, Mike and I made plans (he being my oldest and closest friend) to meet in New Brunswick. After two weeks of biking together, Mike would take the train back to Michigan, collect his things, and then head off to Kansas where he would start teaching 6th graders. (What’s that I hear?)

Wonderful! It seems I’ve camped close enough to a drive-in theater to hear music.
As I look out across the field, I can see the screen. A movie might not be so
bad, except for the fact that I have to pee. I guess I’m stuck here in
my tent at least until it gets darker. The weather looks good too; it
seems to be clearing a little. There are still some storms to my
left, but they’re moving off. I hope the movie is good. It will have
to be because right now sleep sounds more entertaining.

July 5

Yesterday was a good day. I want to say fantastic, but there was too
much wind for that. Last night I decided to stay in a youth hostel. I
went the whole works, $5.50 for a bed and $3.50 for dinner. The dinner
was fantastic–all the fresh smelt I could eat, two types of salad,
brown rice, bread, coffee, and homemade raspberry shortcake. All this
was served to 16 people setting at a table lit by candlelight coming
from three candelabras. Everybody was speaking French. I just sat
back and picked up on all the good vibrations. In fact, you might say
I was having as good a time as anybody there. I’ve talked about my
being able to tune into good vibrations in other journal entries, so I
won’t go into that here. But, let’s just say that if people are having
a good time, I am having as good a time too, even if I happen to be
invisible to the people I am with (unfortunately, the opposite is also
true).

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Good Time Is Contagious—Even If You Are Invisible

  1. I’ve been trying to “back visit” to your blog for a long time, but for some reason your gravatar profile page doesn’t have a link to your blog site, so I just decided to do a Google search on your blog name. First, I want to thank you for all of the “likes” you’ve left on my blog (there I’ve been wanting to do that for a long time).

    Your photos are gorgeous, especially when viewed full screen, and your narrative made me feel like I was THERE. In all, a great post. –John

    • bwinwnbwi says:

      Thank-you John for the nice comment. There are some problems with locating this blog (it has something to do with my other blog that I no longer post at–bwinwnbwi). That blog is an older blog which I am re-posting here–making it more readable at the same time hopefully. I also enjoy the pictures you post on your blog–The Daily Graff: Mon.-Fri. Thanks again for the comments. Take care.

      • Here’s how to add a link to your blog on your gravatar profile page so that bloggers who want to thank you for visiting can find it (this will drive traffic to your blog):

        1. Hover your cursor over your gravatar next to your comment above and choose “View Complete Profile.”
        2. Click on “My Account” in the top menu bar.*
        3. From the drop-down menu choose “Edit My Profile”
        4. Choose “My Links” from the left-hand menu.
        5. Enter the URL of your blog and its name.
        6. Click on “Add.”

        After you do this, a link to (and thumbnail picture of) your blog will be available to anyone who clicks on your gravatar. I guarantee you that many bloggers have wanted to thank you for visiting their blogs, but couldn’t return the vist without this link.

        * You have to already be logged into WordPress to see this menu bar.

  2. bwinwnbwi says:

    Thanks ever so much. Your directions were perfect (they would have to be if I am ever to accomplish a computer task). I now have a place on my gravatar to click so that any curious person can find my blog. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    • I had noticed that the traffic to your blog (based on the no. of comments and “likes”) did not reflect the QUALITY of your blog, which I know would be interesting to many people. It took the first 5 months of my blog to reach 1,500 page hits. Then I read that the best way to get visitors to MY blog was to visit other blogs and interact. My hits just within the month of Feb. were over 1,500, and I’m on track to reach 10,000 all-time page hits sometime this month.

      Your blog is too good to be invisible.

    • BTW, feel free to delete my “How-To” responses to this post.

Leave a Reply

