Torrents Of Rain



Railroad Bridge Outside Quebec City
July

I don’t believe this weather. All last night it was clear. I slept
out under a beautiful moon. This morning the sun was shining and
everything looked great. Then all of a sudden this—I have to stop
writing and prepare for rain. The sky is completely covered in clouds
now, and I’m starting to battle strong winds. Looks like another good day!

Evening: Well, about half hour ago, I was ready to ride into Quebec
City, get on board a train, and not get off until Michigan. In fact, I
still might!

The wind blew hard this morning; I couldn’t even pack up my bike. I
had to carry everything behind a near-by house in order to pack up. At least
I didn’t have to walk very far to get back to the square–thank God. I
managed to take shelter under a gazebo until the rain stopped. All day
I peddled in 3rd, 4th, and 7th gears. That meant for ten hours I had
to push through 30–40 mph winds. It was similar to when I had food
poisoning only this time I wasn’t sick. That wasn’t all; Ma
Nature threw her torrents of rain at me, too. If somebody would have
given me a dime for every time I put my rain gear on, I could have
bought a train ticket back to Michigan. At the end of the day—my third
day of riding wet— that idea sounded like a keeper.

Out of fairness to myself, though, I decided to wait a night before
making that decision. I bought a quart of beer and some cheese twists
at a party store. (The only good thing about Quebec was that every
grocery store sold beer–just like in the states.) Just before sunset,
and a ways off the highway, I camped under an old railroad bridge.
From on top of the cement supports, I could see Quebec City rising
above the horizon. It was a very pretty sight. Drinking my first beer
since Nova Scotia, and eating really good cheese twists, I was
beginning to feel like a human being again.

Right now things are pretty good, but for how long? After a good
night’s sleep, I will seriously consider calling it quits. For a trip
that was planned as a scrapbook event to begin with, a train ride
home, it seems to me, would be a fitting ending. I just witnessed a
beautiful sunset, but it didn’t affect me like in the past. I think
I’m getting sick of traveling with myself. What more can I say!

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Torrents Of Rain

  1. frizztext says:

    Quebec must be wonderful – cold?

    • bwinwnbwi says:

      Quebec is wonderful and beautiful, especially the Gaspe region. But, being a very slow learner, it took me two bicycle trips to Quebec before I could really see how wonderful and beautiful Quebec is! Thanks for the comment.

  2. I am so glad I found your site on goodreads.

  3. Mèo Lười Việt says:

    Sometimes solitude is a treat, sometimes it’s a real burden. In these days I can’t find peace while being alone anymore. Wish someone here talking to me, or listening to me… Feel so lonely and worry a bit. Hope this heavy feeling will be gone soon. In the past I would find someone on Net to talk to but now my YM is ruined and I can’t restore it. Just need a little help then I can raise my mood very soon. Help me, pls.

    • bwinwnbwi says:

      I began my How Free Is Free post with this song lyric from the progressive rock group Procol Harum: IN HELD TWAS IN I—“In the darkness of the night, only occasionally relieved by glimpses of Nirvana as seen through other people’s windows, wallowing in a morass of self-despair made only more painful by the knowledge that all I am is of my own making …When everything around me, even the kitchen ceiling, has collapsed and crumbled without warning. And I am left, standing alive and well, looking up and wondering why and wherefore.”

      Unfortunately, a full life cannot be lived without experiencing In Held Twas I. During those brief episodes, however, we “go deep” and discover our inner strength. If you cannot find strength in your religious beliefs then there is another place you can go. It’s difficult to describe, but I tried to write about it in my Ten Sleep Canyon Connection post.

      “And then it hit me.
      I needed to feel that biting wind against my face. I needed to feel
      that ache in my exhausted muscles, the anxiety of not knowing where I would sleep at night. I had to experience hardships in order to experience communion– the intimacy of communion that I felt while coasting down Tensleep Canyon. And further, without those kinds of challenges, discomforts, and struggles, a sky full of stars, the salty ocean air, the squish of pine needles under foot, would not turn into “shake you alive experiences,” would not become “hello, I am alive feelings.” What a pity, what a terrible pity that would be. Those feelings cannot be bought, only be appreciated. They must never go away.”

      I hope the above helps a little, and I hope you feel better soon. All things pass—Take Care.

  4. Mèo Lười Việt says:

    I feel better now. Not really as well as I did but better than yesterday. Actually when I’m terribly down-hearted I read the teaching of Buddha and feel a lot more spirited. Thank you anyway. Your words really help. And they are beautiful and spacious. You have talent with words.

Leave a Reply

