Playing The Game

MV Conversation Continues
Waianae Beach

Nothing more had to be said, and little had to be done. I walked up to
the store and bought some cat food. I knew this was an empty gesture,
but it was all I could do. As I put food under the car, my nausea did
not go away. As I piled the rest of the food at the base of the tree
trunk for the sick cat or any other, I felt like I was caught up in a
recycling project, a recycling of absurdity. I turned my back on the
cat and walked away, far away. When I finally sat down at another
picnic table and started reading my book, I heard: “Why do you persist?”

“What’s that supposed to mean?” I said.

“If everything is, as you believe,” replied MV, “all filler, then why
read books that pretend to `know why?’ Isn’t that being hypocritical?
If you’re a product of somebody else’s successes and misdeeds, a
cultural artifact, so to speak, then why do you work so damn hard at
being consistent? What for, so you can imitate a culture that for the
most part, you despise? Is that being consistent?”

“What do you want from me,” I said, “If I’m going to play the game, I
need to be informed. Don’t you think I ought to familiarize myself
with the playing field and the rules? Or would you deny me those
skills? Its not all rote you know, sometimes `playing the game’ calls
for a little originality. Those skills can be improved you know. At
least my reading gives me a little different perspective, a
perspective, for the most part, that eludes the rest of the players.”

“That sounds a bit strange to me,” replied MV, “didn’t I just hear
you say that there was `no footing in nothingness, no way out of
emptiness.'”

“Don’t put words in my mouth,” I said. “Creating angles in nothingness
is not the same as escaping from it. And, besides, there’s some
freedom in recognizing `states of affairs’ and responding to them.
Right? Most people don’t even know they’re in a game, leastwise the
absurdity of it all. Creativity is found in the power to perceive
differently, and for me, the meaningless of it all adds a little
humor, and that almost makes it worthwhile.”

“Oh, and that’s why you’re taking up yoga,” replied MV, “so you can
respond to angles with more angles?”

About bwinwnbwi

About me: Marvin Gaye’s song, "What’s Going On" was playing on the jukebox when I went up to the counter and bought another cup of coffee. When I got back, the painting on the wall next to where I was sitting jumped out at me, the same way it had done many times before. On it was written a diatribe on creativity. It was the quote at the bottom, though, that brought me back to this seat time after time. The quote had to do with infinity; it went something like this: Think of yourself as being in that place where infinity comes together in a point; where the infinite past and the infinite future meet, where you are at right now. The quote was attributed to Hermann Hesse, but I didn’t remember reading it in any of the books that I had read by him, so I went out and bought Hesse’s last novel, Magister Ludi. I haven’t found the quote yet, but I haven't tired of looking for it either.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Playing The Game

  1. Mèo Lười Việt says:

    Most people don’t even know they’re in a game, leastwise the
    absurdity of it all.

    Sad but true!

  2. eof737 says:

    MV needs to take a yoga class too… :-)
    Eliz

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog and acknowledging it with a “like”.

    Your writing is fascinating. I can relate to much of what you are saying in your blogs. You have put words to some of my reflections/observations of life.

    I really like your writing style too!

    cheers
    Lorraine

    • bwinwnbwi says:

      Thanks for the nice comment! Postaday came along just about the time I retired so this blog gives me something to work on over morning coffee. Take care.

Leave a Reply

